Daily Bread …. It’s taken a few weeks but I think I’ve cracked it!

I pledged to myself that I would master a daily loaf of bread, it was always something that evaded me despite being handy in the kitchen. 

I have worked (not really work as such..) tweaking and twerking (not literally, I’m no Miley!) to get a recipe that not only gives me consistent results but one that I am also happy to share with you all without fear of being flamed for producing a soggy bottom or a dry crust… 

So, here it is, my daily loaf, please try it and stick exactly to the instructions and let me know ow it works out for you. :) 

 

Ingredients – 

500 grams strong bread flour (this can be white, wholemeal (although I recommend making sure its 100% strong brown), pre seeded or a mixture of many) 

1 tsp salt

1 sachet (7g) of dried yeast 

1 tsp vitamin c powder (optional) 

2 tbsp Oil (this can be Olive Rapeseed, Peanut, Hemp, Sunflower, anything goes) 

2 tbsp of extras (oats, seeds, nuts, herbs, etc etc etc)

325 ml of warm water

 

1. Put your everything except the water into a large bowl, give the bowl a jiggle to mix it around a bit and then add the water.

2. Get your hands in there and give it a really good mix until it comes together into a dough, leave it for 5 minutes. ( Note. I use this time to make tea!)

3. Lightly dust a clean surface with flour and begin kneading, stretch the dough back and forward and give it a good working over, now I’m sorry to be a nag, but you HAVE to do this for 10 minutes, it gets a bit boring and you get arm ache but it’s necessary, I find roping in a child at this point is always handy. 

4. put the kneaded dough back into the bowl and leave it somewhere warm, covered in clingfilm or a damp tea towel for a minimum of 1 hour, no less, no peaking! (again with the nagging right?!) 

5. After the hour, you’ll find your dough has grown and puffed up, excellent! You now need to punch it, seriously, work out any daily anger and punch it, you need to know all the air you just created back out of it.

6. You can pre heat the oven at this point, I have an electric fan oven, I set it to 160 degrees.

7. Now shape the dough int whatever you want, rolls, a standard loaf, baguettes, make a hedgehog if that is your thing, pop it on a tray (line it with some baking parchment) and leave it in your warm place again for 20 minutes.

8. Bake for around 40 minutes until your house smells divine and it’s looking like a tasty loaf.

 

This possibly looks like way more work than it is so please don’t be out off, even if you make one a week, it tastes so much better than a shop bought loaf and it’s got no nasty, unpronounceable  ingredients in it.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

